The new 5G Broadcast transmission standard enables linear broadcast content to be distributed directly to mobile devices such as smartphones or tablets – without SIM cards, Wi-Fi or internet.

The ORS is driving research and development forward in Austria to ensure that 5G Broadcast transmission behaves in a similarly efficient manner to DVB-T2. Information on the advantages of this new transmission standard, on the global initiative, the ORS trials and the underlying technology can be found below.

ORS makes Television fit for mobile devices

According to a study by the University of Salzburg, linear broadcasting is highly popular in Austria. Linear television makes up around 80 percent of audio-visual content use, with an even higher percentage for radio stations. Consumption of content on mobile devices continues to gain in importance.

5G Broadcast is a new technology that is being developed in line with market requirements to address the shift in media usage. It allows broadcast content to be distributed directly to mobile devices. Unlike streaming, users do not need an internet connection or SIM card to receive content on 5G-compatible end devices, whereby mobile television does not use up the user's data volume.

VIDEO: What is 5G Broadcast? Everything you need to know about the future of digital terrestrial television.

The best from the world of broacast and mobile communications

One of the biggest advantages of 5G Broadcast is that the distributed content can reach an unlimited number of users simultaneously. In contrast to mobile networks, broadcasting networks lack of a return channel from the user to the base station, so they cannot offer non-linear services (meaning that user interaction with the content is not possible). 5G Broadcast, however, combines the best of both worlds. When interacting with 5G Broadband – the mobile communications technology – a hybrid communication network is established which supports both linear and non-linear media applications.

In the long run, both the broadcast industry and the mobile communications industry want to enable a user experience that can compete with global streaming services and OTT providers such as Amazon Prime or Netflix. To enable this for both worlds, a common ecosystem must be created for distributing digital media content via 5G. To this end, the ORS is involved in the global 5G Media Action Group, with Austria being represented by ORS Managing Director Michael Wagenhofer.

News about 5G Broadcast

live presentation of 5G Broadcast

ORS introduces new 5G Broadcast transmission standard

24.09.2020
The ongoing test operation of 5G Broadcast was presented at the Austrian Media Days. ORS managing director Michael Wagenhofer discussed with a top-class panel the benefits of the new transmission standard.
Webconference at 5G World

CEO panel: Possibilities and visions of media distribution with 5G

04.09.2020
Expert discussion at the 5G World 2020: a CEO panel consisting of Michael Wagenhofer (ORS), Karim Taga (Arthur D. Little), David Lynn (ViacomCBS) and Ronan Dunne (Verizon) discussed the possibilities of media distribution with 5G.
Start of mobile 5G broadcast measurements by ORS in Vienna

5G Broadcast Testbed Vienna: Mobile measurements have been started

16.07.2020
In mid-July, the first mobile measurements of the 5G Broadcast trial have started in Vienna with a novel measurement vehicle developed by the ORS. The goal of the trial is to investigate possible transmission capacities under various everyday situations.

5G broadcast trial starts end of March 2020

17.03.2020
Michael Wagenhofer (ORS CEO) gives an outlook in the EBU tech-i magazine on the 5G Broadcast trial operation in Vienna starting at the end of March 2020.

VIDEO & e-Booklet: The future of broadcasting in the age of 5G

03.01.2020
5G is the future – this is the broad consensus. But what role does broadcasting play when a separate global uniform standard is available with 5G Broadcast?
Foto Sender Kahlenberg_2

5G Broadcast test gets regulatory go ahead

28.11.2019
The Austrian Communications Authority KommAustria approved the ORS pilot project that is based on the mobile transmission standard 5G.

Mit dem neuen Übertragungsstandard 5G Broadcast können lineare Rundfunkinhalte direkt auf mobile Endgeräte wie Smartphones oder Tablets verbreitet werden ‒ ganz ohne SIM-Karte, WLAN oder Internet.

Die ORS treibt die Forschung und Entwicklung dazu in Österreich voran, um sicherzustellen, dass sich 5G Broadcast ähnlich effizient in der Übertragung wie DVB-T2 verhält. Infos zu den Vorteilen des neuen Übertragungsstandards, zur weltweiten Initiative, sowie zum Testbetrieb der ORS und der Technik dahinter finden sich unten.

Was genau ist 5G Broadcast?

Linearer Rundfunk erfreut sich laut einer Studie der Universität Salzburg in Österreich großer Beliebtheit. Rund 80 Prozent der Nutzung audiovisueller Angebote entfallen auf lineares Fernsehen, bei den Radiosendern ist der Anteil noch höher. Der Konsum auf mobilen Endgeräten gewinnt dabei weiter an Bedeutung.

Um auf die veränderte Mediennutzung einzugehen, wird mit 5G Broadcast eine neue Technologie marktorientiert weiterentwickelt. Rundfunkinhalte werden so direkt auf mobile Endgeräte verbreitet. Für den Empfang auf 5G-fähigen Endgeräten ist daher im Gegensatz zu Streaming kein Internet und keine SIM-Karte notwendig, wodurch das mobile Fernsehen das eigene Datenvolumen nicht verringert.

VIDEO: Was ist 5G Broadcast? Alle Infos zur Zukunft des digitalen Antennenfernsehens.

Das Beste aus der Welt des Rund- & Mobilfunks

Einer der größten Vorteile von 5G Broadcast ist, dass gleichzeitig unlimitiert viele Nutzer/innen mit den verbreiteten Inhalten erreicht werden können. Mangels Rückkanal können Rundfunknetze im Gegensatz zu den Mobilfunknetzen jedoch keine non-linearen Dienste anbieten, wodurch eine Interaktion mit den Inhalten nicht möglich ist. 5G Broadcast verbindet jedoch das Beste aus beiden Welten. So entsteht im Zusammenspiel mit 5G Broadband ‒ der Technik aus dem Mobilfunk ‒ ein hybrides Kommunikationsnetz, das sowohl lineare als auch non-lineare Medienanwendungen unterstützt.

Sowohl die Rundfunkbranche als auch die Mobilfunkindustrie wollen langfristig ein Nutzererlebnis ermöglichen, das konkurrenzfähig gegenüber globalen Streaming-Diensten und OTT-Anbietern wie Amazon Prime oder Netflix ist. Damit das für beide Welten funktioniert, muss ein gemeinsames Ecosystem zur Verbreitung von digitalen Medieninhalten via 5G geschaffen werden. Die ORS engagiert sich hierfür in der weltweiten 5G Media Action Group, bei der ORS-Geschäftsführer Michael Wagenhofer Österreich vertritt.

News zu 5G Broadcast

EBU Forecast mit Michael Wagenhofer (ORS)

5G Broadcast: Erste Learnings von ORS-Testbetrieb in Wien

26.11.2020
Michael Wagenhofer (CEO ORS) präsentierte im Rahmen des „EBU-Forecast 2020“ erste Ergebnisse des 5G Broadcast Testbetriebs in Wien. Resümee: 5G Broadcast ist die Zukunft des Fernsehens, doch dazu müssen noch einige Hürden gemeistert werden...
Alexander Wrabetz (ORF), Michael Stix (ProSiebenSat.1 PULS 4), Corinna Drumm (VÖP) und Michael Wagenhofer (ORS)

ORS startete neuen Übertragungs­standard 5G Broadcast

24.09.2020
Bei den Österreichischen Medientagen wurde der laufende Testbetrieb von 5G Broadcast vorgestellt. In einer hochkarätigen Runde wurde zudem über die Vorteile des neuen Übertragungsstandards diskutiert.
Gruppenbild CEO Panel 5G World

CEO-Panel: Möglichkeiten und Visionen der Medienverbreitung mit 5G

04.09.2020
Dieses Jahr fand die 5G World als Online Event statt. In einem CEO-Panel diskutierten Michael Wagenhofer (ORS), Karim Taga (Arthur D. Little), David Lynn (ViacomCBS) Ronan Dunne (Verizon) über Möglichkeiten der Medienverbreitung mit 5G & 5G Broadcast.
Start der mobilen 5G-Broadcast-Messungen der ORS in Wien am Stephansplatz

Mobile Messungen für 5G Broadcast gestartet

16.07.2020
Die ORS arbeitet seit November 2019 intensiv am neuen Übertragungsstandard 5G Broadcast, der als wichtige Weiterentwicklung des digitalen Antennenfernsehens gilt. Mitte Juli starteten erste mobile Messungen.

5G-Broadcast Test startet Ende März 2020

17.03.2020
Michael Wagenhofer (ORS CEO) gibt im EBU tech-i Magazin einen Ausblick auf den Ende März 2020 startenden 5G Broadcast Testbetrieb in Wien.

VIDEO & e-Booklet: Die Zukunft des Rundfunks im 5G Zeitalter

03.01.2020
5G ist die Zukunft. Doch welche Rolle spielt dabei der Rundfunk, dem mit 5G Broadcast ein eigener, weltweit einheitlicher Standard zur Verfügung steht?
Foto Sender Kahlenberg_2

Testbetrieb für 5G Antennenfernsehen genehmigt

28.11.2019
Die Medienbehörde KommAustria genehmigt einen Pilotversuch der ORS für digitalen Rundfunk auf Basis des Mobilfunk-Übertragungsstandards 5G.